What does the Horoscope 2021 say? Choose your Sun Sign

Navaratri 2020 - Chaitra (Vasant) Navratri Date Falling in March-April

The Navratri is made of words ‘Nav’ means nine and 'Raatri’ means night, and when combined it means nine nights 'Navratri’. Navaratri is known with distinct names like Nauratri, Navarathri, Navratam, or Nauratam is an Indian (Hindu) festival which is celebrated for nine nights honouring the Goddess Durga.

Navratri festival is usually celebrated twice in the month of first 9 days of the Ashwini or Kaar month in Shukla paksha and from Chaitra Sudi Pratipada to Navami in which Navadurga is fasted and prayed.

During Navaratri Goddess Durga who is also known as Shakti who is a symbol of ‘Power’ or ‘Energy’. 

Navaratri in 2020

Navratri is one festival which is celebrated in different states with and people celebrate it little different from others.

If we talk in context to some ancient Hindu texts from the Shakta and Vaishnava Puranas, Navaratri falls twice or four times a year, and out of these four Sharada Navaratri (Ashwin Navratri) which falls in the nearing months between September-October is known as the most auspicious and most celebrated, the next most celebrated is the Chaitra Navaratri (Vasanta Navaratri) which is observed near spring (March-April).

Dates for Chaitra Navaratri, Shardiya Navratri in 2020

Chaitra Navratri / Vasant Navratri - 25th March 2020 to 3rd April 2020

Ashwin (Shardiya) Maha Navratri - 17th October 2020 to 26th October 2020

The dates for Navratri festival are not fixed as they are calculated as per the Muhurats and the Nakshatras every year and hence the dates vary from year to year.

The other two are Magha Navaratri & Ashada Navaratri are observed individually or regionally.

Months of Navaaratris apart from Sharada Navaratri & Vasanta Navaratri

  1. Magha Navaratri:  in Magha months falling from January till February, which is usually in the winter season. 
  2. Ashada Navaratri:  in Ashadha months falling from June till July, which also the beginning months of the monsoon season.

The Shakti Swaroop (form) is worshipped all over India and devotion culminates during the 9-day festival of Navaratri.

Goddess shakti has different forms/reincarnations resembling diverse characteristics: and identified with different names Like goddess Parvati, Durga, Kali, Saraswati knows she can be Parvati, the benevolent goddess of harmony, Durga, the goddess which is correlated with tenacity and determination. Kali as the goddess of destruction or Saraswati as the goddess of literature and philosophy.

Navadurga - The Nine Forms of Maa Durga

Ekadashi - Navartri 2020 Day 1: Shailaputri


Shailaputri also is known as Pratipada, the first day of Navaratri is associated with Shailaputri the name means "Daughter of Mountain"), Shailputri is an incarnation of Devi Parvati. Goddess as Shailaputri is worshipped as the companion of Lord Shiva; depicted as riding the Nandi (bull), with a Trishula on her right and lotus in her left hand. Shailaputri is regarded as the primary incarnation of Mahakali.

Colour of the day: Red, which symbolises life and vitality.

Dwadashi - Navratri Day 2: Brahmacharini


Goddess Brahmacharini, who is another incarnation of goddess Parvati, is worshipped on the second day of Navratras. It is stated that when Parvati became Sati she was reincarnated in this form, which was her unmarried self. Brahmacharini is worshipped for achieving liberty or Moksha (Nirvana) and gaining peace and prosperity. Goddess Brahmacharini is depicted as carrying a Japamala and Kamandal (a utensil to hold holy water of Ganges) in her hands with a posture of walking barefoot, she the symbol of joy and peace.

Colour of the day: Blue, Blue colour represents serenity and yet being strong.

Trayodashi - Navratri Day 3: Chandraghanta


Known as the third form of goddess Durga, the name Chandraghanta or Chandra-Ghanta means "Someone who has a bell in shape of half-moon".

Colour of the day: Yellow, Blue colour represents liveliness and upscale anyone's mood.

Chaturthi - Navratri Day 4: Kushmanda


On the Chaturthi (fourth day) of Navaratri Goddess Kushmanda is worshipped, who is the source of the creative power of the universe, she linked with blessing earth with nature and vegetation on earth. Kushmanda is depicted sitting on a Tiger having eight arms.

Colour of the day: Green, Blue colour represents liveliness and upscale anyone's mood.

Panchami - Navratri Day 5: Skandamata


On the Panchami (Fifth day) of Navaratri, Goddess Skandamata is worshipped, she is known as the mother of Murugan (or Kartikeya).

Colour of the day: Grey, Grey represents the transformation of energy, vigour and fervour.

Shasthi - Navratri Day 6: Katyayani


On the Shasthi (sixth day) of Navaratri,  Goddess Katyayani is magnified she is the daughter of sage Katyayana and incarnation of Durga she is a supreme symbol of courage and power, she is the combatant goddess and she is one of the most violent reincarnations of Goddess Parvati. She rides a lion and has four hands.

Saptami - Navratri Day 7: Kalaratri


On the Saptami (seventh day) of Navaratri, Goddess Kalaratri (7th form of Goddess Durga) is worshipped she is one most stringent form of Goddess Durga, her appearances itself are panicking. However, she is believed to destroy all the negative energy and evil spirits.

Colour of the day: White, represents peace and typifies purity and prayer, vigour, and fervour.

Ashtami - Navratri Day 8: Mahagauri


On the Ashtami (eighth day) of Navaratri, Maa Mahgauri is worshipped who is the 8th form of Devi Durga, the word Maha+Gauri means something which is extremely white. She killed demons Shumbha and Nishumbha.

Colour of the day: Pink, represents optimism.

Navami - Navratri Day 9: Sidhidatri


On the Navami (ninth day) of Navaratri which is also the last day of the Navaratri festival is dedicated to Goddess Sidhidatri, the goddess sits on a lotus. Sidhidatri is the supreme of all the other 8 forms and known as the possessor of all the Siddhis (are spiritual, supernatural, or otherwise mystic powers, abilities, which are advanced through sādhanās one such is Yoga). Having four arms, she is also known with the name Saraswati Devi.

Colour of the day: Light Blue, this colour representation as a symbol of appreciation towards natures beauty.

Related Articles

Recently Added Articles

2020 is your year! Get your YEARLY REPORTS now and know what SURPRISES are hidden for you in 2020
Already Have an Account LOGIN


Get Free Quote!

Submit details and our representative will get back to you shortly.

No Spam Communication. 100% Confidentiality!!